Home       Email  

Malaysian Economic Convention 2015

Conference Program

1st Day

8.00am  – 9.00am   Registration
9.00am  – 9.15am   Welcoming remarks by President Malaysian Economic Association
Co-Chair : Prof Noor Azina Ismail
9.15am  – 9.30am   Opening Ceremony  officiated by Vice-Chancellor , University Malaya
9.30am  – 10.30am   Keynote Address by  Tan Sri Dato’ Sri  Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz, Governor, Bank
Negara Malaysia
10.30am – 11.00am   Refreshment Break  
11.00am – 12.30pm   Plenary Session 1 :
Financial Governance in the ASEAN Economic Community
Moderator : Tan Sri Dato’ Mohd Sheriff Mohd Kassim
Speaker 1 :  Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Mohd Munir Abdul Majid  / Dato’ Muhammad Ibrahim
Speaker 2 : Tan Sri Andrew Sheng / Datuk Nor Shamsiah Mohd Yunus
Speaker 3 : Tan Sri Dato’ Dr. Lin See Yan : Q & A
12.30pm – 2.00pm   Lunch Break
2.00pm – 4.00pm   Regular Session 1 : Development of Financial Markets
Chairperson: Dr. Subramaniam Pillay
a. Managing Capital Flow
b. Islamic Finance
Q & A
4.00pm – 4.30pm   Refreshment Break
4.30pm – 6.00pm    Plenary Session 2 : Finance and Market Intelligence
Moderator :  Datuk Ranjit Ajit Singh
Speaker 1 :  Dr. Sukhdave Singh
Speaker 2 :  Cik Sharifatu Laila Syed Ali
Speaker 3 : Dato’ Sri Mohamed Nazir Abdul Razak
6.00pm – 8.00pm   Rest Break
8.00pm – 8.300pm   Dinner talk by Tan Sri Dato’ Azman Hashim
8.30pm – 10.00pm   Dinner and Cultural Show

2nd Day

9.00am – 9.45am   Guest Speaker - Prof. Kishore Mahbubani
Moderator: Prof. Dr. Datuk Norma Mansor
9.45am – 10.15am   Refreshment Break
10.15am – 12.15pm   Parallel Session 2 : Finance and Trade
Chairperson: Dr. Cheong Kee Cheok
a. Intra-ASEAN Trade
b. Greater China-ASEAN Trade
Q & A 
12.15pm – 2.00pm   Lunch Break
2.00pm – 4.00pm  

Parallel Session 3 : Finance and Social Welfare
Chairperson: Dr. Yeah Kim Leng

  1. Healthcare Financing
  2. Old Age Protection
4.00pm – 4.30pm   Refreshment Break
4.30pm – 6.00pm   Plenary Session 3 : Breaking out from the Middle Income Trap
Moderator : Prof. Dr. Rajah Rasiah   
Speaker 1 : Prof. Tan Sri Dr. Kamal Salih
Speaker 2 : Dato’ Charon Wardini Mokhzani
Speaker 3 : Prof. Datuk Dr. Noor Azlan Ghazali        
Q & A
6.00pm – 6.15pm   Closing Remarks by Prof. Noor Azina Ismail Co-Chairman of MEC

Venue and Accommodation

Conference venue is at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya.

Address : New Block , Faculty of Economics and Administration, University of Malaya , 50603 Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
Telephone : 03-79560075 / 79673647 Fax:03-79563139 Email : mgt@pem.org.my
Copyright © 2010, Malaysian Economic Association. All Rights Reserved.